The Law of Insurance Contracts and the ‘Rules’ of Policy Interpretatio
Live Webcast

The Law of Insurance Contracts and the ‘Rules’ of Policy Interpretation


Total Credits: 3 including 3 CE Credit




Description

Insurance policies are subject to the standard law of contracts; but beyond simple contract law, insurance contracts are bound by unique provisions and requirements specific to insurance. An understanding of these unique legal characteristics is necessary to understand the insurance contract. Once the unusual characteristics of insurance contracts are understood, the rules for reading any insurance policy can be applied. In this class students learn:

  • The basic provisions of contract law;
  • The unique legal characteristics of insurance contracts;
  • The general construction of insurance contracts;
  • The ‘rules’ for reading and understanding ANY insurance policy; and
  • Why exclusions exist. 

SC Course number #144762
Type of Course: Property & Casualty

Course Materials

Faculty

Christopher J. Boggs Related seminars and products: 8

CPCU, ARM, ALCM, LPCS, AAI, APA, CWCA, CRIS, AINS


Christopher J. Boggs, CPCU, ARM, ALCM, LPCS, AAI, APA, CWCA, CRIS, AINS, joined the insurance industry in 1990. He is the Executive Director of the Independent Insurance Agents and Brokers of America (Big "I") Virtual University. His current duties involve researching, writing, and teaching property and casualty insurance coverages and concepts to Big "I" members and others in the insurance industry.

 

During his career, Boggs has authored more than 300 insurance and risk management-related articles on a wide range of topics as diverse as Credit Default Swaps, the MCS-90, and enterprise risk management. In addition to this, Boggs has written 13 insurance and risk management books:

  • "The Insurance Professional's Practical Guide to Workers' Compensation: From History through Audit," now in its second edition;
  • "Business Income Insurance Demystified: The Simplified Guide to Time Element Coverages," now in its third edition;
  • "Property and Casualty Insurance Concepts Simplified: The Ultimate 'How to' Insurance Guide for Agents, Brokers, Underwriters and Adjusters;"
  • "Wow! I Never Knew That! 12 of the Most Misunderstood and Misused P&C Coverages, Concepts and Exclusions;"
  • "Insurance, Risk & Risk Management! The Insurance Professional's Guide to Risk Management and Insurance;"
  • "Workers' Compensation: How You Can Effectively Answer Your Clients 12 Most Commonly Asked Questions;"
  • "Glossary of Insurance Terms;"
  • "Choosing the Best Risk Financing Option;"
  • "Writing Property and Liability Coverage for Condos;"
  • "The Truth about Enterprise Risk Management;"
  • "The Experience Mod Worksheet;"
  • "What has ISO Done to us Now?" and
  • "Cancellations, Non-Renewals & Conditional Renewals: THE Insurance Professional's Guide to Statutory Insurance Carrier Notification Requirements for All 50 States!"

 

Boggs is a regular speaker at industry events, speaking for groups such as the National Association of Mutual Insurance Companies (NAMIC), the National Society of Insurance Premium Auditors (NSIPA), the American Association of Managing General Agents (AAMGA), the Institute of Work Comp Professionals (IWCP), and the CPCU Society.

A graduate of Liberty University with a bachelor's degree in Journalism, Boggs' background includes work as a risk management consultant, loss control representative, producer, claims manager, and quality assurance specialist


Dates

Tue, Nov 27, 2018 - 01:00p to 04:00p EST
Thu, Dec 06, 2018 - 01:00p to 04:00p EST
Tue, Dec 11, 2018 - 01:00p to 04:00p EST
Thu, Dec 13, 2018 - 01:00p to 04:00p EST
Wed, Dec 19, 2018 - 01:00p to 04:00p EST
Tue, Jan 08, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EST
Tue, Jan 15, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EST
Thu, Jan 24, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EST
Tue, Feb 12, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EST
Wed, Feb 20, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EST
Tue, Feb 26, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EST
Thu, Mar 07, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EST
Thu, Mar 14, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Thu, Mar 21, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Wed, Apr 03, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Wed, Apr 10, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Wed, Apr 24, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Wed, May 01, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Thu, May 16, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Wed, May 22, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Thu, Jun 06, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Wed, Jun 26, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Tue, Jul 09, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Tue, Jul 16, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Tue, Jul 23, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Tue, Aug 06, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Tue, Aug 13, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Tue, Aug 20, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Thu, Sep 19, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Thu, Sep 26, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Wed, Oct 09, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Wed, Oct 16, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Wed, Oct 23, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Thu, Nov 07, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EST
Thu, Nov 14, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EST
Thu, Nov 21, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EST
Thu, Dec 05, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EST
Thu, Dec 12, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EST
Thu, Dec 19, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EST

Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

Overall:     4.7

Total Reviews: 67

Please wait ...

Back to Top